Annual Orchid Show in CostaRica

La Asociación Costarrense de Orquideología, this is the national costarrican orchid asociation´s annual orchid show is the biggest event of this kind in Costa Rica and probably in the rest of Central America and the Caribean. This year it´s in the Cariari Country Club.

Two judge panels from the American Orchid Society came this year to judge the plants. The results come from comparing the flowers characteristics with the ones in a gigantic data base from around the world.

This year´s show was much flashier than others I have seen in past years here. The exhibits are much better, though the lighting doesn´t help much when it comes to photographing (I had to use a flash for every take). If you can´t get enough light at noon, in summer in Costa Rica, there isn´t that much you can do, however, the ones I captured were not too shabby(you can see more in my photo blog: //www.flickr.com/Allendale/).

The only real complaint I have is that every coming year you see fewer and fewer native species in the show. In a country that boasts having about 1400 species of orchids (about one tenth of the ones in the world), this is discouraging to think about. I mean, it´s  o.k  if we have some chinese who export thousands of dendrobiums and vandas a year, but we ought to see some more of our own stuff even if only for the sake of scientific interest. Some say it´s because national species are protected which may be true but it´s hardly the point. Myself, I must admit I was one of the priviledged who found orchids in their own habitat some years ago (and I can can say there´s no feeling compared to actually finding an orchid no matter how many you can find in stores. Yes, I was  one of those nuts that went to the jungle to search them. I also got some other thing like wasp and bee stings, ferocious ant bites and even the occasional  scorpion sting (no venomous snake bites though I intruded in their domains great part of the time). Falls from trees, and other scratches and bruises. Yet if you ask me if I would do it again I surely  would.

One Comment

  1. Amanda
    Posted March 20, 2007 at 4:05 pm | Permalink

    Mitigator Rules!
    I can recommend a new “scrub” product called “Mitigator Sting & Bite Treatment”; to say that it is terrific is an understatement! It actually removes venom by exfoliating the top layer of skin, opening the pores and drawing out the toxins. I had instant relief from pain and itching and all traces of the sting disappeared within minutes. I found it on the web at http://www.Mitigator.net. I called and they sold me (6) ½ ounce packages for about $2.00/pack (each resealable pack treats about 20 stings or bites). The only thing that can create a problem is if you wait too long to apply it, it should be rubbed in vigorously within the first few minutes after the bite or sting – the longer you wait, the less effective it is. I’ve used it on bees, wasps, fire ants (no blisters even appeared), mosquitoes and chiggers. They say it works on jellyfish but I’m a long way from the ocean so I haven’t needed it for that problem. No smelly chemicals, works great and is even safe for kids (the scrubbing replaces scratching so – no secondary infections). I should make a commercial for them


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

